Trouble with multiple recognizer.say commands

I am new to Movi, so pardon if this is an obvious question. How do I make Movi speak a multiple set of recognizer.say() commands? I have a simple set of four recognizer.say() commands, i.e.,

recognizer.say(“text”);
recognizer.say(“text”);
recognizer.say(“text”);
recognizer.say(“text”);

Movi will only say the first two then it hangs. The serial monitor hangs with MOVIEvent[150]: SPEAKING

That’s very odd.

Can you post the entire program? Did you rewire any of the serial communication?

Gerald

I am also having a problem with “say”. It doesn’t seem to be a blocking function so if you start speaking the next code instruction will execute before the speech ends.

May just be my beginner level but I cannot monitor the events 150 & 151 (start and end speaking) as they aren’t accessible during the speech.

I’ll post more if I come up with a solution. Good problem :wink:

awk,

I also need to send multiple sequential speech commands to MOVI’s synthesizer.

My project is providing features for a Robotic Monkey Head. I use 2650 Arduinos for a 1. processor dedicated to MOVI for speech rec and speech synthesis 2. a control processor that provides most of the head’s intelligence logic, sensors and messaging between all other processors via hardware serial links and 3. a dedicated processor that handles all the PWM servos and DC servos moving the head’s elements (eyes, mouth eyelids, eyebrow, left,right, up down etc.).

Here is a solution and code snippets that work for me:

On the speech processor in the mail loop I check the receive serial port from the control processor for any commands that may have been sent.

When a speech command is detected, a function is called outside of the loop to process the command, speak it and monitor the events until the MOVI advises that the speech has completed (a -151 event code).